2014 NSW Rotax State Titles

The Port Macquarie Kart Club hosted the 2014 NSW Rotax State Titles on the weekend of November 15, 16.

As always Tony Kart chassis were up the front of every class from the start.

In his first race meeting driving a Tony Kart chassis, Karting World driver Nathan Tigani claimed pole position in his Racer EVK chassis by almost 2 tenths. Nathan went on to win every heat and also set the fastest laptime in 4 of the 5 races contested. Brock Plumb was also at the front all weekend and started the final on grid 2 making it a Tony Kart lock out. Brock finished the final in 2nd position behind Tigani.

QLD driver Chris Farkas qualified in 2nd position in Rotax Heavy and went on to claim 2nd position finishes in the heats, a 3rd posiotn in the pre - final and at the end of the final Chris crossed the line in 3rd position.

DD2 saw Karting World driver, Chris Bregonje qualify in 2nd place and he would go on to record wins in heat 2, 3 & pre-final. Tony Kart again had a lock out on the front row with Chris Bregonje on pole with Andrew Kahl in 2nd position. Unfortunately they didn't finish the final that way due to tyre wear, but managed to hold onto 5th and 6th place at the finish. Harrison Knight finished in 9th position after a tough weekend.

Current DD2 Master Australian Champion, Adam Hunter again proved too good for the class. Adam qualified in pole position and didn't finish outside the top3 all weekend. Adam went on to win the final by over 3 seconds!

Another Tony Kart driver to have an almost perfect weekend was Victorian driver Thomas Hughes. Like Nathan Tigani in Rotax Light, Thomas qualified in position 1 and won every race he contested while grabbing the fastest lap in all but 1 heat! QLD driver Will Brown finished the pre-final in 2nd, setting up another 1, 2 start for the Tony kart brand for the final. However no one could catch Thomas and he went on to win the final by 2.7 seconds. Will Brown finished 4th, Josh Fife was 5th after returning from the ROK Cup in Italy, and QLD State Champion Jordan McGregor was 6th.

In the Cadets class, Victorian driver Sean Larkin overcame a heat 3 DNF to claim victory in both the pre-final and final. Sean won the final by over 4 seconds in his Rocky chassis! Kynan Brooks fought back to finish in 7th position after qualifying in 18th place, while NSW driver Jaiden Pope finished 9th.

 2014 NSW Rotax State Titles gallery